It may be surprising to know that the types of foods eaten can affect the chakra balance. Just because chakras are energy vortexes does not mean they only react to spiritual things. On the contrary, the physical body must be nourished properly in order to support and fuel the chakras. Eating proper food may be what is needed to restore chakras that are misaligned. Planning meals that have the proper amount of the correct foods can actually bring balance into the chakra system.

The Root Chakra

The root chakra grounds the mind and body and provides a firm foundation. Foods that help keep the root chakra in balance include root vegetables. Potatoes, carrots radishes and onions are some of the foods that nourish the root chakra. Foods that are protein rich like meat, eggs, peanut butter and soy products also provide root chakra balance. Spices good for the root chakra include hot paprika, horseradish, cayenne and pepper.

The Sacral Chakra

Proper feeding of the sacral chakra can aid in supplying the balance required for healthy sexual and fertility functioning. Foods spiced with sweet paprika, cinnamon and vanilla help balance the sacral chakra. Sweet fruits are not only delicious but helpful to this chakra. These include coconuts, mangos, strawberries and passion fruit. Honey, almonds and walnuts are included among foods that help balance the sacral chakra.

Solar Plexus Chakra

People who struggle with self-control and confidence could have an imbalance in the solar plexus chakra. Eating grains like rice, sunflower seeds, pastas and breads can to help provide the balance needed to boost self-esteem. Dairy products can also help balance this chakra. Food spiced with ginger, any variety of mints, chamomile, turmeric and fennel are good for chakra balancing this chakra.

Heart Chakra

Emotional stability and healing are centered in the heart chakra. Combining a diet of leafy green vegetables with green teas can help to soothe emotions. Vegetables like cauliflower, cabbage and celery are also helpful. Spices that help balance the heart chakra include parsley, basil, thyme, sage and cilantro.

The Throat Chakra

The throat chakra, which is the seat of communication, is nourished with most liquids such as water, herbal teas and fruit juices. The throat chakra responds well to tangy and tart fruits like lemons, limes, kiwi and grapefruit. Salt and lemon grass, along with fruits such as apples, apricots, peaches and plums also help to balance the throat chakra.

Brow Chakra

The brow chakra is also known as the third eye chakra. When it is balanced, it secures wisdom, intuition and imagination. Fruits like red grapes, blueberries and raspberries awaken the senses of the third eye. Drinking red wine and grape juice helps to balance the brow chakra. Lavender, mugwort and poppy seeds are just a few spices that also provide balance to this chakra.

The Crown Chakra

Appropriately named because of its location and importance, the crown chakra is the highest of the energy forces. A perfectly balance chakra results in the essence of the Oneness experience. Keeping the crown chakra in balance is not so much as what is eaten but by consistent ritualistic cleansing. This included regular fasting and detoxification. Herbs like sage, myrrh, juniper, copal and frankincense can be made into incense and burned. The smoke from the incense can be inhaled or a mixture can be smoke through a pipe.

How the Color of Food Helps Balance Chakras

It is believed that the body can be healed through colors. Each chakra is associated with a specific healing color. Food comes in a variety of colors that coordinate with the healing colors of chakras. One of the ways to balance a specific chakra is to choose food in the healing color that relates to the chakra.

For instance, a person who is feeling left out of a group may have an imbalanced root chakra. The color of red is associated with the root chakra. Eating red food such as apples and radishes as well as foods laced with spices like paprika is said to provide balance to the root chakra because their healing color is red. This same principle can be applied to the remainder of the seven chakras. Choosing food to help balance a specific chakra in the same healing color as that chakra intensifies the chakra balancing

Author's Bio: 

Michelle is an expert writer in the personal growth niche.