Self Improvement Site
On The Internet!
Take the Self Improvement Tour
<< Go Back to Main Forum
Introduce YourselfNew to the Forums? Get Started Here.
UPSC IAS Exam Syllabus
No replies
Anujjindal UPSC
Joined: Jul 6 2021
Points: 270
UPSC IAS Exam Syllabus

Overview of the UPSC Syllabus

Without beating much around the bush let me get straight to the point. The UPSC exam is a 3-phase affair:

Phase 1 is the UPSC Preliminary Examination, also called UPSC Prelims. This exam contains questions of the objective type.

Phase 2 is the UPSC Mains Examination, also called UPSC Mains. This exam contains descriptive-type questions.

Phase 3 is the Personal Interview round conducted to test the Personality of the Candidate.

UPSC Prelims Syllabus
Starting with the UPSC Prelims syllabus, it should come as no surprise that the syllabus is quite extensive in and of itself.

The UPSC Prelims examination, on the other hand, is mostly used for screening purposes. As a result, if you pass the Prelims exam, you will be qualified to take the Mains exam.

In addition, if you make it to the interview phase, your Prelims scores will not be factored towards your final order of merit.

The UPSC prelims examination consists of two papers: a general studies paper and a CSAT (Civil Services Aptitude Test) paper.

UPSC Mains Syllabus
Remember how I mentioned the Himalayan valley reminding me of the UPSC syllabus? It was the UPSC Mains syllabus that came to mind at the time.

The enormity of the IPS/IAS Mains syllabus is capable of sending even the most experienced applicants into nervous chills.

This is due to the fact that only those applicants who pass Phase 1, or the Prelims, are eligible to take the Phase 2 or Mains exam.

Fundamentally, the UPSC Mains exam is designed to evaluate your grasp of the many disciplines covered by the UPSC syllabus, and it is designed to do so in a timed manner.

It's worth noting that, with the exception of the two language papers in the UPSC Mains curriculum, all of the papers can be written in any of the languages listed in Schedule 8 of the Indian Constitution.