Alcohol consumption is incredibly common. It is always present at celebrations and events for people to enjoy. However, there is still a rising issue with alcohol abuse in the UK, aiding addiction and dependency on the substance. Alcohol is also often believed to be a gateway to drug use and poor choices. Alcohol testing is also becoming more common, and is used for workplaces, legal situations, and health reasons.

It is always best to understand the different alcohol levels associated with an alcohol test.

What Are The Different Alcohol Levels?

Here are the different levels of intoxications:

1.      Level 1:

At this level, the Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) level is between 0.01-0.05. The BAC is normally undetectable in an alcohol test. However, specific tests can still pick up on such minor traces of alcohol. The effects on the individual are slight. But this also depends on how an individual reacts to alcohol.

2.      Level 2:

The individual becomes more confident and chatty at this stage. The BAC level at this stage falls somewhere between 0.03-012. We name this stage ‘euphoria.’

3.      Level 3:

The level of ‘excitement’ where the BAC level is between 0.09-0.25. The intoxicated individual may experience poor reasoning and emotional instability.

4.      Level 4:

Next comes ‘confusion.’ The Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) level falls between 0.18-0.30. The symptoms include emotional bewilderment and disruption.

5.      Level 5:

At this stage, the alcohol levels are too high. It is distinguished by extreme intoxication. It can result in alcohol poisoning or even death. The BAC level falls somewhere between 0.25-0.40. It is known as ‘stupor.’

6.      Level 6:

This stage is known as ‘coma’ and is highly hazardous and causes several health malfunctions such as failing motor functions. The BAC level is between 0.35-0.45.

7.      Level 7:

At approximately 0.45 Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) level, the body loses life. It gets difficult for the cells to keep up with the alcohol content.

So, now you know why it is essential to know the different levels of alcohol consumption to ensure you do not massively damage your health.

Commonly, various drinks have different levels of alcohol content in them. So, for example:

  • 12 ounces of beer has an approximate 5% of alcohol content,
  • 5 ounces of wine has around 12% of alcohol content,
  • 8 ounces of malt liquor has a 7% of alcohol content,
  • And 1.5 ounces of distilled spirits, such as whiskey, vodka, rum, etc., have around 40% of alcohol content.


It is okay if you are in the habit of drinking occasionally. However, people who are regular drinkers should keep a check on their drinking habits. A great way to start is to know the different levels of alcohol intoxication and why they threaten your health.

An excellent way to manage your drinking habit is to undergo an alcohol test regularly, or you can always seek professional help if you feel you are falling victim to addiction.

Author's Bio: 

My name is Anna 6 years of experience writing and editing beauty, lifestyle, home, health, and entertaining content for publications on different sites.