Chakras can be explained as places in our body where the universal life-force (kundalini) is particularly concentrated and leads to tangible experiences on the physical, emotional and spiritual levels. Everybody has life-force/kundalini energy to a certain extent – so in everyone the chakras are active to a degree and can be felt – either in a pleasurable way or in a distorted and painful way.

There are numerous systems and theories in different cultures of the world about the different chakras and energy channels in the human body. For example, the Hindu system recognises seven main chakras, while the Tibetan Buddhist system speaks only of five. Yet others systems describe three, nine or even twelve main chakras.

The important thing to understand is that chakras and energy channels are not a mechanical system of pipes and vents in our body through which energy flows but are highly individual experiences on the physical, emotional and spiritual levels. In other words, everyone has slightly different experiences of the chakras in their body.

With this in mind, I would like to offer a description of the chakra energy that many people can identify with. It is based on the Tibetan Buddhist chakra system that recognises five main chakras.

Head Chakra

When the head chakra is open we feel spiritual bliss, have deep insights about the nature of reality, clarity of thought, clairvoyance, superior concentration and visualization abilities, creative ideas and even spiritual visions.

When the head chakra is blocked we suffer from negative thoughts, megalomaniac ideas about ourselves, limited ideas about reality, depression, lack of imagination, inability to focus, tiredness and head-aches. We may also suffer from learning disorders like adhd or dyspraxia. Physical symptoms of the head chakra indicated illness around the head and the brain.

Throat Chakra

When the throat chakra is open we are able to communicate brilliantly and convincingly, we are full of joy and enjoy the give and take with other people.

When the throat chakra is blocked we feel shy, we may stutter, we find it hard to express ourselves, we feel anxious, stressed and suffer from performance anxiety. We may also have a voice that sounds unpleasant to others or we may use foul and aggressive language. On a physical level a blocked throat chakra indicates pain and illnesses around the throat.

Heart Chakra

When the heart chakra is open we feel at ease with ourselves and the world. Everything appears as lovely and we can love everyone – friend and enemy alike. We feel a deep sense of purpose and know that we are the right place at the right time. On the highest level an open heart-chakra indicates the union with the divine.

When the heart chakra is closed we may feel sad, rejected, lonely, depressed and full of self-pity. There is strong sense that things are not going the way they should and that something essential is missing from our life. Equally, we may be cold-hearted, cruel and mean. On a physical level a blocked heart chakra indicates pain and illnesses that are centred in the chest.

Stomach chakra

The stomach chakra is located in the upper part of our abdomen just beneath the rib-cage. When this chakra is open we feel very peaceful, calm and free of worry. There is a sense of belonging and security that makes us feel safe.

When the stomach chakra is closed we worry excessively and we cannot ‘digest’ the sense stimuli that come our way. Everything upsets us. We may feel very uptight and mean. On a physical level a blocked stomach chakra indicates pain and illnesses that are centred in the upper abdomen.

Navel chakra

The navel chakra is located in our lower abdomen. When it is open it fills us with a sense of power and competence. People with an open navel chakra are successful in what they doing. They feel confident in every way – including the sexual arena – and love challenges. On a higher level an open navel chakra indicates supernatural abilities.

When the navel chakra is closed we feel weak, anxious, depressed and unable to make any progress in our life. We may also suffer from sexual dysfunction and we are generally under-confident. Or we may be on an egotistical power trip and ruthlessly and greedily trying to fulfil our own needs alone. On a physical level a blocked navel chakra indicates pain and illnesses that are centred in the lower abdomen.

Chakra Healing

Chakra change means life change – or the other way round – if we want our life to change we need to change our chakras first and the ‘outside world’ will follow.

In order to correct a distortion in our chakras and achieve chakra healing we need to relax very deeply. Any inner image that helps relaxation like a flower opening out from the chakra or a wave of water flowing in and out from the chakra will help to let go of any kind of distortion that has built up in the chakra. However, we should be aware that chakra opening is foremost an event of the mind and only secondarily of the body. It is our limiting beliefs and attitudes that have caused all the problems in our chakras. So, we should be prepared to look at these attitudes and then let them go.

The greatest healer of all limiting attitudes and beliefs is love. Therefore, sending love into every chakra will bring them to their most beautiful opening and ultimately to the union with the divine. In Tara’s book The Five-Minute Miracle you will find a detailed explanation about how to open your chakras through the healing power of love.

Author's Bio: 

Tara Springett holds an M.A. in Education and is a fully qualified psychotherapist. She has post-graduate qualifications in gestalt therapy, body awareness therapy and transpersonal therapy. She has worked as a drugs counselor, counselor for adolescents and general psychotherapist since 1988.
Tara has been a dedicated Buddhist practitioner since 1986. In 1997 she received encouragement from her Buddhist teacher to teach others. Tara has since taught on-going meditation groups and combines Buddhist wisdom and her experience in counseling when assisting her clients with their personal growth, self development & improvement.
For more chakra explanation go to