Elements and modalities are basic astrological principles that deepen our
understanding in astrology. Some
state it interests their studies for more. After all, astrology is
fun, insightful, and accurate.

The 12 zodiac signs have different qualities. Certain groups of signs share
similar qualities. The two most popular methods for sign grouping are elements
and modalities. Astrologers like to see which of the groups their natal planets
fall in and add them up to produce counts, or totals. It's fun to tally up your
Sun, Moon, and planets and check out your elemental and modality balance. 

The basic thing to keep in mind while doing this is that we become what we want
(or lack) and we do what we can (or have to do). Our highest totals, which show
what we can or have to do, are often not held dear. Most people are obsessed by
what they lack or want -- their lowest totals. 
They tend to study their wants, imitate, and even fake them. They become or
turn towards what they want or lack. 

Elements. A very popular grouping of the signs is that of the four elements --
fire, earth, air, and water. 

Fire Signs: Aries, Leo, Sagittarius. People with lots of fire in their chart
are very active and involved and "can do" all kinds of things. Those with
little fire can't get started and may need someone to light a fire under them. 

Earth Signs: Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn. People with lots of earth are very
practical. They can see how to do and use things. Those with little earth can't
be objective, aren't grounded or practical. 

Air Signs: Gemini, Libra, Aquarius. People with lots of air are analytical;
they are able to resolve and draw conclusions. Those with little air have
trouble with abstractions and ideas -- getting the "big picture." 

Water Signs: Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces. People with lots of water are very
feeling and "sense"-ative. Those with little water can't get a feel for things;
they run cool. 

Modalities. Another popular way of grouping the zodiac signs is by cardinal,
fixed, and mutable. 

Cardinal Signs: Aries, Cancer, Libra, Capricorn. People with a heavy emphasis
in cardinal signs are self-starters, doers. They initiate and get things
moving. Folks with few planets in cardinal signs may have trouble getting the
ball rolling. 

Fixed signs: Taurus, Leo, Scorpio, Aquarius. People with a heavy emphasis in
fixed signs hang onto and preserve life. They are at the center of things and
are hard to budge. Folks with few planets in fixed signs may have trouble
persevering and lack stick-to-it-ive-ness. 

Mutable signs: Gemini, Virgo, Sagittarius, Pisces. People with a heavy emphasis
in mutable signs are on the move and transformative. They communicate and
assist things to change. Folks with few planets in mutable signs may have
trouble adapting or being flexible. 

Author's Bio: 

Jackie Williams has worked for as a manager overlooking the talent department for a prominent new age communications company. Later as the internet developed, she diversified her recruitment specialty to server global clients for a internet based spiritual network.
She attained her Master of Arts in Anthropology from Northern Arizona University and her BA from Hunter College.