CompTIA Security+ certification validates candidates' baseline skills and the core technical knowledge essential for any cybersecurity role. It is one of the most desirable credentials among IT professionals. The Security+ certification is widely recognized because it is compliant with ISO 17024 standards and approved by the Department of Defense (DoD) of the US to meet directive 8140/8570.01-M requirements.

CompTIA updates the exam version every three years. The new Security + SYO-601 is going to release in November 2020.

Security+ SYO-501 certification

The CompTIA introduced Security+ SYO-501 in 2017. The certification enables candidates to identify various threats & vulnerabilities, learn security technologies, risk management, and implement security architecture within an organization. The certification covers six domains. The domains with their weightage in the examination are as follows:

1. Threats, Attacks, and Vulnerabilities (21%)
2. Technologies and Tools (22%)
3. Architecture and Design (15%)
4. Identity and Access Management (16%)
5. Risk Management (14%)
6. Cryptography and PKI (12%)

The Security+ SYO-601 Exam: what's different

The CompTIA is going to release the new Security + SYO-601 version in November 2020. It includes the latest trends and technologies. The certification verifies the core technical skills of candidates in assessing and managing risk, incident response, forensics, enterprise networks, security controls, and cloud operations.

  1. The current CompTIA Security+ SYO-501 exam covers six domains, whereas the new SYO-601 exam covers only five domains focusing on skillsets required for the current industry roles.
  • The new CompTIA Security+ 601 exam covers the latest trends and technologies to identify the modern attack surfaces.
  • The current CompTIA Security+ SY0-501 covers 37 exam objectives under six domains. On the other hand, the new SY0-601 will cover 35 objectives under 5 domains. Moreover, the SY0-601 exam objectives comprise of more examples under each objective to help the IT professional to prepare for the certification exam and the job role.

Which exam to take?

Candidates need to choose the exam as per their convenience and availability. The CompTIA Security+ certification's validity lasts for three years from the day a candidate successfully clear the examination. The Security+ SYO-501 will be retired in the spring of 2021. But if a candidate passes the examination prior to the date of its retirement, it will still be valid for three years.

Candidates are advised to be well prepared before the examination if they choose the new Security+ SYO-601.

Earn the CompTIA+ certification with the Infosec Train?

Whether you go for the Security+ SYO-501 or SYO-601 certification, Infosec Train is delighted to help you get through both the examinations. Our certified and qualified instructors are well-versed in the respective domains. They follow comprehensive teaching methodology and focus more on practical knowledge with an aim to transform individuals into highly skilled professionals.

Author's Bio: 

Join us today to get through the CompTIA Security+ certification in the first attempt and forge ahead a promising career in the cybersecurity domain.