Chakras are the seven centers of spiritual energy in the human body that can be effected by emotional, and physical influences.
These chakras run down the front and back of the body, along the spinal column of the body. The more clear and balanced a moms chakra is, the more energy can flow through her system.

Natural, Holistic Practitioners have always been aware of how an unbalanced chakra effects ones health.
Therefore they are recommending their clients to seekout programs and therapies to help in stress reduction such as deep breathing techniques, massage therapy, reiki treatments, and participating in yoga classes. Its important to understand that the body gets sick on a spiritual level way before it hits the physical level.

Moms need to start taking note of specific ailments such as stomach problems, recurring yeast problems, constant headaches, heart palpitations etc. Then start educating themselves on the chakras and how to balance them.

Balanced Chakras = Happiness & Health

Here is a list of the seven major Chakras and what main health problems can be associated with a imbalance of one or more:

The Root Chakra - Red

The Root Chakra is located at the base of the spine. Its attributes are our basic survival needs and feeling grounded and secure within our environments. Its element is earth and its sense is smell.

When the Root Chakra is balanced you feel secure and self-assured. When this Chakra is overactive, the ego is probably inflated, there may be feelings of needing to be in control, or the over activity might show up as a lack of empathy towards others. When the Chakra is under active you may exhibit feelings of insecurity, fear, and there may be little interest in sex.

Illnesses affected by this Chakra are drug or alcohol addictions, anemia, cancer, arthritis, heart disease, gynecological problems, Aids, Herpes, candida. The affected glands are the Adrenals, kidneys, spinal column, colon, legs, and bones.

The Spleen/Navel Chakra – Orange

The Spleen, or Navel Chakra is located about 2 to 3 inches below the navel, or midway between the pubis and the navel. Its attributes are about social feelings, creativity, sexuality, emotions and intuitiveness. The Spleen Chakra is strongly affected by the beliefs and programmings that were instilled in us in our childhood years. Its element is water and its sense is taste.
When this Chakra is balanced, you feel more loving towards yourself and others and life in general. Your physic senses are finely tuned and you are able to feel compassion and empathy. When there is excessive energy, you might feel emotionally imbalanced; you don’t feel connected or loving with others, you may become manipulative. If this Chakra is under active, you might feel shy and untrusting of others. You will have a harder time feeling connected spiritually and emotionally.

The Spleen Chakra is related to muscle cramps, low energy, and allergies. The glands it affects are the skin, kidney, mammary glands, ovaries, testicles, prostate, and of course, the spleen.

The Solar Plexus Chakra – Yellow

This Chakra is located a little above the navel, or about midway between the navel and the heart. This Chakra is considered to be the Chakra related to Life Force Energy, or Chi. The related element is fire and the sense is sight.

When this Chakra is balanced, you might feel a strong sense of personal empowerment. You will feel more outgoing and reach out towards life more. You will feel relaxed and peaceful. When there is excessive energy within this Chakra you might have a tendency to be a perfectionist and find it harder and harder to relax. You might become overly judgmental of others and not feel loving. If this Chakra is under active, you might become depressed, confused, and less trusting.

The Solar Plexus Chakra is related to intestinal problems, gas, food allergies, the liver, diabetes, and depression. The affected glands are the diaphragm, adrenals, skin, digestive organs, stomach, pancreas, gall bladder, and liver. It also affects breathing.

The Heart Chakra – Green or Pink

The Heart Chakra is located in the middle of your chest. It is the center of love and compassion. The element is air and the sense is touch.

When your Heart Chakra is balanced, you are able to give and receive love freely. You are better in touch with your feelings and you are more capable of nurturing others, especially your own children. When this Chakra has excessive energy you might become demanding, overly critical and perhaps manic-depressive. If this Chakra is under active you might feel sorry for yourself, feel unworthy love, terrified of rejection, and need constant reassurance.

The Heart Chakra is related to heart disease, high blood pressure, negativity, fatigue, difficulty breathing, tension, insomnia, anger, paranoia, and cancer. The glands it’s associated with is your heart, lungs, thymes gland, and lymph glands. It also affects your immune system.

The Throat Chakra – Light Blue or Turquoise

The Throat Chakra is located in your lower throat area above your suprasternal notch (middle of collarbone). The element is ether and the sense is hearing.

Your throat Chakra regulates the center of your communication. When balanced, you feel like you can communicate openly and clearly, you feel artistic, more creative, and content. When the energies in this Chakra are over active you might feel arrogant or self-righteous, or more prone to addictions. When it’s under active you might feel timid or shy, you may become manipulative or feel conflict with your inner life.

Problems with this Chakra may lead to Communication and/or speech problems. You might feel or act ignorant, or have a lack of discernment. There might be thyroid and immune system problems, or other throat problems.

The Third Eye Chakra – Indigo

The Third Eye Chakra is located in the middle of your forehead, slightly above and in between your eyes. The element is telepathic and electrical energy and the sense is thought.

This Chakra is known as your God Conscious energy center and regulates your higher self. When balanced you are better in tune with your self and your God connection or Higher Self. You feel a sense of self-mastery and wisdom. When over active, this Chakra might leave you feeling egomaniacal or manipulative of other people. When it is under active you might feel over sensitive to the feelings of others, cut off from your higher self, afraid of death.

The illnesses that might be elevated due to the Third Eye Chakra are Confusion, mental illness, bad eyesight, and lack of clarity, intuitive mental exhaustion or the feelings of being psychically attacked. The glands that are associated with this Chakra is the pineal gland, pituitary, brain, eyes, ears, nose.

The Crown Chakra – Violet or Gold

The Crown Chakra is known as the connection to the Divine.

When this Chakra is balanced you are at your closest connection with your higher self. You have total access to your conscious and unconscious. If this Chakra is over active you might feel a constant state of frustration, feel psychotic or become manic depressed. If it is under active you might not feel confident to make decisions, you might become lethargic, almost catatonic.

The illnesses associated with this Chakra are stress, worry, hysteria, right-left brain balance, headache, or depression. The glands and organs affected are the pituitary gland, pineal, nervous system, brain, cerebral cortex, and right eye.

Seek out a massage therapist or a reiki practitioner to recieve some energy work to get your chakras balanced. Some moms will even wear specific jewelry to help them feel more balanced.

Author's Bio: 

Kari is a holistic mom who hosts Holistic Moms Talk Radio. Visit her site Holistic Moms Talk Radio to signup for her newsletter.