By Astrology Lover
12 Chinese zodiac animals
The Chinese Zodiac (Oriental Zodiac) is based on a 12-year lunar cycle, where each year is represented by a certain animal. It is believed that the sign of the zodiac animal affects the character of each person. The traditional order of zodiac animals is as follows: Rat, Bull, Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Goat, Monkey, Rooster, Dog and Pig!

In the Chinese horoscope - all the wisdom of the East. According to legend, the Buddha himself created it under the guidance of the Heavenly Emperor. Chinese horoscope can tell all about your character, inclinations and abilities of the year of your birth.
As the Chinese sages have always argued, a person who has known himself, controls his Fate himself and attracts good luck. Learn about your strengths and hidden talents to achieve success with their help!

Zodiac signs - why are these 12 animals?
12 Chinese zodiac animals (12 like in European zodiac signs) were not chosen by chance. These were animals either closely related to the daily life of ancient China, or those that according to Chinese beliefs brought good luck.

A bull, a horse, a goat, a rooster, a pig and a dog are six animals that have traditionally been kept in a Chinese household. A well-known saying in China says, “Six animals in a house means prosperity.” That is why these six animals were chosen.

The remaining six — rat, tiger, rabbit, dragon, snake, and monkey — are animals that are very much loved in Chinese culture.

Zodiac signs - why in this order?
Why in this order? The 12 Chinese zodiac animals are represented in a specific order according to the Yin and Yang teachings. You can get an horoscope prediction for the whole year.

Yin and Yang of animals is determined by the number of their claws (paws, hoofs). Even pure for Yin and odd for Yang. Animals in the zodiac are arranged in an alternating order Yin-Yang.

Usually, animals have the same number of fingers on the front and hind legs. However, the rat has four toes on its front paws and five to the rear. As they say in China: "Things are valued for their rarity." Therefore, the Rat is in the first place among the 12 animals of the zodiac. This unique animal combines both the odd signs Yang and even Yin:
4 + 5 = 9, where Yang dominates, and therefore as a result, rats are classified as odd (Yang).

Symbolic meaning of 12 zodiac signs
In ancient China, each zodiac animal was endowed with a certain symbolic meaning - a sign. 12 animals were divided into 6 pairs in such a way that the signs of one animal in a pair were opposite to those of another animal from this pair. So harmony was achieved - Yin and Yang.

The order of the animals of the zodiac, presumably, was not chosen by chance: in China it is customary to begin with the most important, and then put all other signs in descending order. As well as initially, Yang is always strong, dominant, and then Yin gives harmony.

Eastern Zodiac signs compatibility

Between the signs of the animals of the eastern zodiac form four triples of related compatibility. This psychological compatibility corresponds to four types of temperament. 1. Rat, Dragon and Monkey - open signs 2. Bull, Snake and Rooster - closed signs 3. Tiger, Horse and Dog - volitional signs 4. Rabbit, Goat (Sheep) and Pig (Boar) - creative signs. Zodiac animals belonging to the same three interact well with each other at all levels of life - from friendship and love to partnership and career.

Author's Bio: 

Just an astrology Lover =)